Log in
The logo for the Archives Association of Ontario. When clicked on, you will be taken to the home page.

Nominations for 2021-2022 AAO Board of Directors

12 Apr 2021 1:11 PM | Anonymous

Nominations for 2021-2022 AAO Board of Directors

The AAO’s Nominations Committee is pleased to announce the following slate of candidates for the 2021-2022 Board of Directors, to be voted on by AAO members at the 2021 virtual AGM (Friday, May 14th, 2021). Nominations from the floor during the AGM will also be accepted.

Voting for the position of IDC Chair is only open to AAO Institutional Members, and that vote will be held by special ballot at the AGM as per section 6.10 of the AAO Constitution.

Stay tuned for more information about the virtual AGM in the coming weeks.

VP-President Elect: Rachel Beattie

Rachel E. Beattie is an Assistant Media Archivist at the Media Commons Archives, part of the University of Toronto Libraries. A graduate of the University of Toronto Faculty of Information, she is passionate about both sound and moving image archives and community – specifically LGBTQ2+ - archives. She is one of the co-chairs of the Sound and Moving Image Special Interest Section at the ACA and served on the 2021 AAO Conference Programming Committee. She is also a member of the Community Engagement Committee of the ArQuives: Canada’s LGTBQ2+ Archives where she hosts their monthly LGBTQ2+ trivia hour.

Secretary-Treasurer: Charlotte Chaffey

Charlotte Chaffey graduated with a Master of Information Studies (2002) from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Information. She has held a number of professional archival and records management positions with institutions such as the Presbyterian Church in Canada, the Law Society of Ontario, and York University. Charlotte currently holds the position of Archivist/Records Manager at the Royal Ontario Museum where she is responsible for all aspects of archival services. Charlotte earned the Practicing NAAB Appraiser (PNA) designation in March of 2020.

Director Without Portfolio: Moska Rokay

Moska Rokay is the Digital Humanities Research Fellow at the Institute of Islamic Studies (UofT) tasked with coordinating the Muslims in Canada Archives (MiCA). Moska’s research interests lie in the interdisciplinary crossroads of archives, critical race and ethnicity studies, media studies, and identity formation in diaspora communities of war and trauma. She is an advocate for community-centered, activist archives and archives of diaspora communities. In 2020, she was the recipient of the ACA New Professional Award and Archivaria’s Gordon Dodds Student Paper Prize. She completed her Master of Information at the University of Toronto and defended her thesis in 2019.

IDC Chair: Jessica Barr

Jessica Barr is the University Archivist and Records Manager for the University of St. Michael’s College (Toronto, ON), where she is responsible for the official records of the University, the University art collection, and the archives of the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies. Since 2019, she has also served on the Board of the Archives Association of Ontario as the Secretary-Treasurer. She holds a Master of Information degree from the University of Toronto (2011).

Website Administrator: Melissa Nelson

Melissa Nelson holds a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in History, with a minor in Sociology, from Carleton University. She also completed a Master of Information Studies at McGill University. Her experience includes working for George Brown College Archives, The Presbyterian Church in Canada Archives, the Law Society of Ontario Archives, and Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections at York University. Melissa conducts research and produces content on history and archive related topics for her website

We look forward to your participation at the AGM on May 14th.

The AAO 2021 Nominations Committee

705-1 Eglinton Ave. East

Toronto ON

M4P 3A1

(647) 343-3334

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software