Log in
The logo for the Archives Association of Ontario. When clicked on, you will be taken to the home page.

James J. Talman Award

James J. Talman was the second Archivist of Ontario, serving from 1935 to 1939. He subsequently served as Chief Librarian for the University of Western Ontario until 1969. Talman was appreciated for his gentle manner and intellectual approach, and was admired for his prolific publications, some of which include Basic Documents in Canadian History (1959), Huron College, 1863–1963 (1963) and The Journal of Major John Norton, 1816 (1970).

The James J. Talman Award is given to individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding level of imagination and innovation in contributing to the profession, their institution, or the archival community, or who have challenged conventional thinking about archival work.

 Year  Recipient(s)
 James Anderson 
 1992  Peter Moran 
 1993  not awarded 
 1994  Michael Moir 
 1995  Jane Nokes 
 1996  Peter Hessel 
 1997  Joan Baillie 
 1998  not awarded 
 1999  not awarded 
 2000  Bob Krawczyk 
 2001  Jean Dryden 
 2002  Kent Haworth 
 2003  not awarded 
 2004  Mark Walsh 
 2005  not awarded 
 2006  Ed Phelps
 2007  Jim McLaughlin 
 2008  Glenn Lockwood
 2009  Ian Wilson
  • Barbara Craig
  • Harold Averill 
 Cathy Shepard 
  • David Sharron
  • Cathy Bailey 
 2013  not awarded 
 2014  not awarded
 2015  Heather MacNeil 
 2016  not awarded 
 2017  Nick Ruest 
 2018  Danielle Robichaud
 2019 Robin Keirstead
  • Anna St. Onge
  • Paulette Dozois
 2021 Mary Grace Kosta

The Archives Association of Ontario (AAO) is led by a committed community of volunteers from across the province. 

705-1 Eglinton Ave. East, Toronto ON, M4P 3A1  |  (647) 343-3334

Join us today. When clicked on, you will be taken to the Membership application page.        `  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software