Alexander Fraser Award

Colonel Alexander Fraser was born in Scotland in 1860 and arrived in Canada in 1886. Shortly after his arrival he became a staff member of the Toronto Mail. In 1903, Fraser was selected as the first Archivist of Ontario and served in that capacity until his retirement in 1935. He was involved in and assumed leadership roles in many local societies and he also edited and published many books and articles, including a two volume history of Ontario.

The Alexander Fraser Award is given to individuals who have contributed in a significant way to the advancement of the archival community in Ontario. Achievements may range from written and visual work to involvement in organizations or participation in projects. This award is designated to recognize cumulative contributions rather than any single activity. Generally speaking, contributions need to go beyond a specific archives or community.

 Year  Recipient(s)
 1988 John Smart 
 1989 Anne MacDermaid 
 1990 Mark Walsh 
 1991 Christine Ardern 
 1992 Roy Schaeffer 
 1993 Shirley Spragge 
 1994 Joyce Pettigrew 
 1995 Lucie PagĂ©
 1996 John Barton 
 1997 David Bullock 
 1998 Rev. Edward Jackman 
 1999 Lorna Whittaker 
 2000 Lutzen Riedstra 
  • Alex Ross  
  • Paul Banfield
 2002 not awarded 
 2003 Mary Gladwin
 2004 Mary Charles 
 2005 Brian Masschaele 
  • Jill Robertson 
  • Brian P.N. Beaven
  • Paul J. Henry 
  • Marc Lerman
  • Linda Chakmak 
  • Sister Gayle Desarmia
 2009 not awarded 
 2010 Robin Keirstead 
  • Jim Burant 
  • Karen Teeple 
  • John Lutman
  • Rodney Carter 
  • Ellen Scheinberg
  • Jennifer Bunting 
  • Patricia Kennedy
  • Carolynn Bart-Riedstra 
  • Matt Szybalski
  • Daniel German
  • Jean Dryden
  • Loryl MacDonald
  • Theresa Regnier
  • Suzanne Dubeau
  • Anne Hepplewhite

Address: 411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200, Toronto, ON M5A 3S5

Phone: 647-343-3334 | Email:


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software