Congratulations to the 2016 AAO Award Recipients!

31 May 2016 6:50 PM | Danielle Robichaud

On behalf of the AAO Awards Committee, it is my pleasure to announce the 2016 recipients of AAO Awards:

Alexander Fraser Award

The Alexander Fraser Award is given to individuals who have contributed in a significant way to the advancement of the archival community in Ontario.

Jean Dryden has demonstrated a strong commitment to volunteer work, generously sharing her knowledge and expertise with archival colleagues in a variety of ways: committee and board work; through her numerous articles, conference papers, handbooks, and reports; professional workshops; and as General Editor of Archivaria. Two particular areas in which Jean has shown tremendous leadership and advanced the archival community are descriptive standards and copyright. Recently she has emerged as the leading copyright expert and has strongly represented the interests of the archival community. Jean received the James J. Talman Award from the AAO in 2001. Her exceptional service to the archival community throughout her career and her contributions in these areas make her an equally deserving recipient of the Alexander Fraser Award.

Loryl MacDonald started her career in archives in 1997. She has worked at U of Toronto Archives and Records Management Services for many years and was appointed University Archivist in 2012. Loryl has been an active and influential member of the archival community, holding numerous positions: president of TAAG; vice-president and president of AAO; and director without portfolio, vice-president and president of the ACA. She has served on several committees at the provincial and national level, was part of the 2010 ACA Conference Program Committee, edited the ACA Bulletin, and in 2014 co-chaired the Organizing Committee of the Canadian Archives Summit with Ian Wilson. Loryl also lectures at the Faculty of Information at the University of Toronto, preparing and mentoring many new professionals for the realities of archival work in Canada. Loryl is an extremely dedicated and accomplished archival professional and role model for new professionals who fully deserves the Alexander Fraser award.

2016 AAO Alexander Fraser Award - Theresa RegnierTheresa Regnier is being recognized for her long-standing and exceptional service to the AAO, and for the impact she has made on the broader archival and historical communities. She has been an active member of the AAO and its predecessors without pause for some 30 years. Therese has also been actively involved at the chapter level in Southwestern Ontario throughout this time and has served multiple, multi-year terms as President. Indeed, it is hard to remember a time when Theresa was not a member of the local executive. At the provincial level, Theresa served three years on the AAO Board and has been instrumental in the planning of three AAO conferences. Moreover, she has been a staunch advocate for professional education, regularly supporting students who are undertaking graduate programs at Western and encouraging them to join the AAO with great success. Theresa’s long standing service to the AAO and her contributions to countless researchers and students make her richly deserving of the Alexander Fraser Award.

Corporate Award – Université De Hearst

2016 AAO Corporate Award – Université De Hearst

The Corporate Award is given for outstanding support to archives and the archival community in Ontario, including organizations that have provided significant support to the activities of a particular institution. Le Centre d’archives de la Grande Zone argileuse was established in 2010. Before that time, no institution had the mandate to preserve and protect the archives of the Great Clay Belt of Northern Ontario. It is to bridge that important gap that l’Université de Hearst worked at setting-up an archives center. The building, which formerly served as the bishop’s residence, was renovated at a cost of $1.3 million. In addition to funding this work, l’Université de Hearst has also supported the maintenance of the archives center along with the archivist, a university employee. L'Université de Hearst has not only been extremely active in promoting the preservation of the archives but has also implemented important research support mechanisms. Its financial contribution and professional support has been crucial in the operation and success of the archives which make the university completely worthy of this award.

Institutional Award Winner – Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives

2016 AAO Institutional Award – Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives

The Institutional Award is given to institutions that have contributed significantly to the advancement of the archival community in Ontario, and for having demonstrated a significant level of innovation and imagination. The Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives (CLGA) was founded in 1973. It was originally run entirely by volunteers. Since that time it has changed its name and its location several times, before settling into its permanent headquarters at 34 Isabella Street in 2009. The facility features a large reading room, a gallery, and meeting rooms. Since its inception, the CLGA has built its archival, library, and museum collections, established a robust volunteer program, and has worked with local colleges and universities to provide educational and training opportunities for students, interns, and emerging heritage professionals. It now boasts a full-time executive director. The CLGA serves as a significant resource and catalyst for those who strive for a future world where lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people are accepted, valued, and celebrated. It is currently the largest independent LGBTQ archives in the world. It is for this reason that the CLGA is being honoured today with the AAO Institutional Award.

Congratulations to all the recipients!

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Masschaele

AAO Awards Committee Chair

Address: 411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200, Toronto, ON M5A 3S5

Phone: 647-343-3334 | Email:


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software