Institutional Award

The AAO Institutional Award is given to an archival institution that has contributed significantly to the advancement of the archival field or community, or has demonstrated a significant level of innovation and imagination in the establishment of outstanding or model programmes or services. Recognition may be granted for the individual programmes or projects of particular merit for a programme integrating many facets of archival enterprise.

Examples of projects or programmes open to nomination:

  • Arrangement and Description (eg. finding aid systems, information networking, guides or other published finding aids)
  • Preservation Management (eg. design, construction or upgrading of a facility, sharing of conservation skills or facilities)
  • Public Programmes (eg. special exhibits or exhibition programmes, publications, education or community outreach programmes).

 Year Recipient 
 1995 Anglican Diocese of Huron Archives
 1996 Metropolitan Toronto Archives & Records Centre 
 1997 Metropolitan Toronto Archives & Records Centre 
 1998 not awarded 
 1999 Stratford-Perth Archives 
 2000 Simcoe County Archives 
 2001 Scotiabank Group Archives 
 2002 William Ready Division of Archives & Research Collections (McMaster University) 
 2003 Trent University Archives 
 2004 Wellington County Museum and Archives
 2005 not awarded 
 2006 not awarded 
 2007 Elgin County Archives 
 2008 York University Archives 
 2009 Archives of Ontario (new campus at York University) 
 2010 not awarded
  • Wellington County Museum and Archives
  • Ryerson Gallery and Research Centre and Library and Archives Special Collections Program

 2012 Queen's University Archives 
 2013 Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre and Arthur A. Wishart Library (Algoma University) 
 2014  not awarded
 2015 City of Thunder Bay Archives
 2016Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives
 2017not awarded

Address: 411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200, Toronto, ON M5A 3S5

Phone: 647-343-3334 | Email:


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software