Congratulations to the 2015 AAO Award Recipients!

06 Jun 2015 5:13 PM | Danielle Robichaud

On behalf of the AAO Awards Committee, it is my pleasure to announce the 2015 recipients of AAO Awards:

Institutional Award Winner – City of Thunder Bay Archives

AAO 2015 Institutional Award - City of Thunder Bay Archives The Institutional Award is given to  institutions that have contributed  significantly to the advancement of the  archival community in Ontario, and for  having demonstrated a significant level of  innovation and imagination. The City of  Thunder Bay Archives has long been a  leading municipal archives in Canada.  The archives combines an excellent facility, professional staff and innovative programming through initiatives such as virtual exhibits to effectively serve the community.

Corporate Award Winner – County of Perth and City of Stratford

2015 AAO Corporate Award - County of Perth and the City of StratfordThe Corporate Award is given for   outstanding support to archives and the archival community in Ontario, including organizations that have provided significant support to the activities of a   particular institution.  The County of Perth and City of Stratford have jointly supported the Stratford-Perth Archives since 1971 which is more than worthy of recognition. The development of a new,  purpose-built facility opening June 2015 only speaks further to the merits of this award.

Corporate Award Winner – Ministry of Government and Consumer Services

2015 AAO Corporate Award - Ministry of Government and Consumer Services The Ministry and its predecessor ministries  have funded the AAO’s Archives Advisor  Program since its inception in 1991, making  it possible for the AAO to effectively serve  countless communities and organizations  across the province.  This investment has  helped to ensure that Ontario’s rich recorded  heritage is properly preserved and made  available to the province’s citizens.

James J. Talman Award Winner – Dr. Heather MacNeil

2015 AAO James J. Talman Award - Heather MacNeil The James J. Talman Award is given to  individuals who have demonstrated an  outstanding level of imagination and  innovation in contribution to the archival  profession. Dr. MacNeil’s nomination  spoke to her many professional  accomplishments, her research on  archival theory and practice, and her  ability to inspire students with the  breadth of her vision.

Alexander Fraser Award Winner – Daniel German

2015 AAO Alexander Fraser Award - Daniel German The Alexander Fraser Award is given to  individuals who have contributed in a  significant way to the advancement of  the archival community in Ontario.  Achievements may range from written  and visual work to involvement in  organizations or participation in projects.  This award is designed to recognize  cumulative contributions rather than any single activity.  Mr. German’s nomination spoke to his many professional accomplishments, both at Library and Archives Canada, and to the archival community in Ontario as a whole. This includes serving as Chair or Vice-Chair for an unprecedented four AAO conferences.

Congratulations to all the recipients!

Respectfully submitted,

Brian Masschaele

AAO Awards Committee Chair

* * *

The 2015 AAO Awards were handed out during the Awards Luncheon on May 29, 2015 during the 2015 AAO Conference

Address: 411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200, Toronto, ON M5A 3S5

Phone: 647-343-3334 | Email:


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software